Mati Martma

  • Haljala Estonia
Mati Martma


General description

I am a 59 year old in engineer with thorough management profile. I consider myself very experienced in mechanical engineering and in manufacturing of furniture details. I am quick-thinking and pragmatic. With my engineer-like reasoning and management experience I find quick solutions to difficult situations as well as work well in new circumstances. I have good communication qualities and I have no problem solving matters in either English, Estonian or Russian. I have a higher education in mechanical engineering from Estonian University of Life Sciences and I have graduated several training and management courses.

Work History

Work History
Jun 2011 - Present

Manager of technical department

Eesti Energia Kaevandused AS - Estonia's national energy company

I am responsible for: adoption of new technical policies and their smooth operation; procurement of new equipment, including drafting of technical terms and conditions; planning of procurement related to maintenance and repair.

Sep 2008 - Mar 2009

Member of the Board, CEO

Keava Liimpuit OÜ - manufacturer of various wood details

I managed company's everyday activities. I was responsible for company's production and technical innovations. I organised the  company's production and financial activities and developed marketing and sales strategy.

Jun 2005 - Apr 2008

Production Director

SW Mööbel AS - manufacturer of solid wood furniture. Mostly export to Scandinavian countries

I was the head of production department. I was responsible for company's production and technical innovations and I managed the production department, including production equipment and buildings. I reported to the owner of the company.

Jun 2001 - Jun 2005

Chief Engineer

SW Mööbel AS

Company's business activity was the production solid wood furniture. I was responsible for the company's and its subsidiaries' technical  projects and for maintenance of manufacturing (and techincal) equipment and production buildings. I managed a team of 5 people.

Feb 2000 - May 2001

Project Manager

LDC Viru Grupp OÜ - manufacturing of furniture and furniture details

I was in charge of 25 people. Company produced furniture and components for the furniture. I was responsible for the  production administration, energetic and manufacturing equipment care. My everyday assignments also included purchasing spare parts from Estonian and foreign companies.

Apr 1996 - Feb 1999

Chief Mechanic

AS EVR Koehne - repair and maintenance of Estonia's railway network. Enterprise is owned by German company Hermann Koehne Bauunternehmung GMBH and  90%

I managed five subordinates. I was responsible for purchase and procurement of entire technical equipment, including its maintenance and repair. 

Jan 1994 - Apr 1996


AS TermoDan Engineering - manufacturing of economic heat control systems of central heating in large apartment buildings

I was responsible for company's everyday activities and developing strategies for heat control systems. I managed 15 subordinates. 

Education and training

Nov 2009 - Oct 2010

Training courses Marketing and sale programme

Marketing Institute
Aug 2008 - Oct 2008

Training courses in business management

State program
Feb 2004 - May 2004

Training courses in building ventilation

Tallinn University
1987 - 1988

Diploma in management

Higher School of the Management
1974 - 1979

Higher education as engineer-mechanic

Estonian Agricultural Academy (now as Estonian University of Life Sciences)

Faculty of Agricultural Mechanizing 

1962 - 1974

Secondary school

Tartu 10th High School



Communication skills

I communicate in clear and convincing manner, while maintaining my calm and respectful attitude. I like when all members of the group are honest and open so that any issue can be solved quickly without any risk of damage.

Organisational skills

I have vast experience in managing smaller teams as well as leading large departments. I do my best to keep a calm, satisfied and goal-oriented team spirit, while being in constant communication with all members. I am always open for new ideas and discussions and I aknowledge hard work and dedication. I encourage my team to be honest and straightforward, because good communication and chemistry is vital for a success.

However I have no problems working individually or being part of a team. I enjoy challenges and new experiences.

Computer skills

  1. Microsoft Office - very good knowledge and work practice with Microsoft Office programs like Word, Excel, Powerpoint and Outlook. I am familiar with presentations and various online communication solutions.
  2. Web browsers - good orientation in Internet Explorer, Google Chrome and Mozilla Firefox. Familiar with online search engines.


Estonian - native language

English - very good oral and written

Russian - very good oral and written

Drivers lisence

A, B, C, D, E category.  

Personal characteristics

I am communicative, goal oriented and percise. I can focus quickly and I am not afraid of difficult circumstances. I approach all issues with logical reasoning mainly thanks to my engineer-like thinking. I am polite and calm, while being correct and straightforward at the same time. I improve myself constantly and I try to influence others to do the same.

Personal information

I am 59 years old (born in 19 May 1956, Estonia). I am married and I have two children. In my free time I like to swim and play basketball with my sons. I have a personal car and I can be mobile if necessary. If you have any additional questions please do not hesitate to contact me via my contact information referred above.